Board of Trustees

The Louis Bay 2nd Library is governed by a 9 member Board of Trustees.  By statute, the Mayor and the Superintendent are automatic board members and the remaining 7 are appointed by the Mayor for 5-year terms. 

New Jersey law gives the Library Board the power to “do all things necessary and proper for the establishment and maintenance of the free public library in the municipality”  (N.J.S.A. §40:54-12). 


The Honorable John Lane, Mayor, Borough of Hawthorne (n/a)
Dr. Richard A. Spirito, Jr., Superintendent of Schools (n/a)
Diana Connolly, Secretary and Treasurer (2028)
Katie Haake (2027)
Joseph Metzler (2026)
Cheryl Pasquale (2027)
Dr. Richard A. Spirito, President (2025)
Evan Toth, Vice President (2027)
Theresa DiGeronimo, Superintendent’s Alternate (2023)
Anna Marie Sasso, Mayor's Alternate (2023)
Monica A. Smith, Library Director (n/a)

Terms are designated in parenthesis and expire on December 31 of the year listed. 

Meeting Schedule 2024

All meetings of the Board of Trustees of the Louis Bay 2nd Library and Community Center are held on the second Wednesday of each month at 4:30 pm at the Library, unless otherwise announced in advance to the public. 

Discussion of necessary actions to be taken for the regular operation of the Library will occur at these meetings which are open to the public. 

January 10July 10
February 14 August 14 
March 13 September 11
April 10 October 09
May 08November 13
June 12December 11

In accordance with the Open public meeting Act, any changes in this schedule will be announced in The Herald, and The Record. 

Dr. Richard A. Spirito
President, Board of Trustees, 2024 

Scroll to Top